You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience and security.
Question: Who won the first Indianapolis 500?
Answer: Ray Harroun won the first Indianapolis 500 in 1911, after about 6 hours and 42 minutes of racing.
Question: Where in Indiana is the Indianapolis Motor Speedway?
Answer: Speedway is a small town surrounded by the city of Indianapolis.
Question: On which holiday weekend is the Indianapolis 500 held?
Answer: Since its beginning in 1911, the Indianapolis 500 has been held on Memorial Day (formerly called Decoration Day) or during the Memorial Day weekend.
Question: Why is the Indianapolis Motor Speedway also known as the Brickyard?
Answer: Millions of bricks were laid in 1909 to create a strong racing surface. By 1961, all but a small strip of bricks had been covered with asphalt.
Question: Who was the first woman to compete in the Indianapolis 500?
Answer: Janet Guthrie competed in the Indianapolis 500 in 1977, 1978, and 1979. She finished the race only once, in 1978, in ninth place.
Question: Who was the first non-American-born driver to win the Indianapolis 500?
Answer: Jules Goux, a Frenchman, won the third Indianapolis 500, held in 1913. His engine was French too, and he reportedly drank wine during pit stops.
Question: What, by tradition, do winners of the Indianapolis 500 drink after the race?
Answer: Louis Meyer, a three-time winner in the 1920s and ’30s who was fond of drinking buttermilk while racing, is credited with starting the milk-drinking tradition. By 2016 it had become an opportunity for a trade group in Indiana to march a cow around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
Question: In the first 99 runnings of the Indianapolis 500, the fastest race winner averaged more than 200 mph (322 kph).
Answer: Between 1911 and 2015, the fastest average speed for an Indianapolis 500 winner was 187.433 mph (301.644 kph), set by Tony Kanaan in 2013.
Question: What was raced in the first competitive event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, in 1909?
Answer: Carl Fisher, the founder of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and an enthusiastic balloonist, arranged for a national balloon championship race to begin at his track.
Question: The first Indianapolis 500 was held in 1911. It took until 2016 to reach the 100th running. Why?
Answer: No races were held in 1917–18 and 1942–45. During World War II, the track was all but abandoned, and there were plans to turn the land into housing.
May 25, 2014: NASCAR driver, Kurt Busch (26), runs the 98th annual Indianapolis 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, IN.

Indianapolis 500

{{(vm.state.currentQuestion + 1)}} of {{vm.questions.length}}
Indianapolis 500
You finished!
Your Score: {{vm.state.numberCorrect}} / {{vm.questions.length}}
Play Next Quiz
{{(vm.state.currentQuestion + 1)}} of {{vm.questions.length}}
{{vm.state.numberCorrect}}/{{vm.questions.length}} correct
{{vm.state.score|number:0}}/{{vm.maxPoints}} points
Your results
Question {{($index + 1)}}
Your Answer:
{{vm.state.responses[$index].isCorrect ? 'Your' : ''}} Correct Answer:
Are you a quizmaster?
Compare your score
Max Score: {{vm.maxPoints}}
Your Score
Community Average
High scores
or to track your quiz stats, save your best scores, and compete with the community!
Check out Britannica's new site for parents!
Subscribe Today!